• Wide screen resolution
  • Narrow screen resolution
  • Increase font size
  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
Home About Club History
Article Index
Club History
All Pages

115 South Union Street


On February 8,1923 the oganizational meeting of the Woman's City Club of Akron took place at the home of Miss Helen Wolle, temporary chairman, who was later elected the first president. In July 1923 the Mason House located at 115 South Union was rented and served as the clubhouse until 1926, It was then decided to move to a downtown location. The third floor of the Pythian Temple, 34 South High Street, was leased as a clubhouse. The first meeting in the new location was held on June 30, 1926. A fire destroyed the third floor on June 25, 1929. The fourth floor of the Pythian Temple was leased in September 1929 to handle the Club's growing needs. The clubhouse remained at this location until April 1946. In 1939 the Club was re-incorporated as a non-profit organization and became known as the Akron Woman's City Club. In 2006 the Club was re-incorporated as a charitable nonprofit organization.


1946 - present
732 West Exchange St.


On September 19, 1945 the Board of Trustees approved a motion that the property known then as the Stadelman Estate or "Gray Lodge" be leased for a period of five years (with the privilege of purchase) from Mr. James Arthur, owner of the property. After a successful financial campaign and membership drive, work was begun at the Club in March 1946. The official moving date was June 3, 1946. The gratitude and appreciation of all members goes to Mrs. L. A. Graham, who was president from 1945-1947 during this period of transition. The leadership of Mabel Graham, the vision and exceptional business ability of the Board of Trustees, and the support of the membership brought city-wide recognition to our Club. It truly can be said that - "The beauty of our house is order, The blessing of our house is contentment, The glory of our house is hospitality."

May 2018 June 2018 July 2018
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30